Pursuant to 45 CFR Section 1304.50 of the Head Start Act, the Hinds County Human Resource Agency Head Start Policy Council consists of 29-35 members and serves as a link to Parent Committees, the HCHRA Governing Board of Directors, public and private organizations, and the communities served. The Council is composed of Head Start parents, representatives from the HCHRA Board of Directors, and citizens from the community. This composition ensures that parents and community representatives have an opportunity and are empowered to actively participate in the shared decision-making process of Hinds County Project Head Start.

The Hinds County Human Resource Agency (HCHRA) acknowledges that it is essential for the Head Start Program to reflect the community as a whole. Therefore, pursuant to 45 CFR Section 1304.50 of the Program Performance Standards for the Operation of Head Start Programs, a formal Policy Council structure was developed to ensure that Head Start parents and other community representatives have accessibility and encouragement to participate in shared decision-making fully. To ensure effectiveness, Policy Council members must participate in various training and assessment activities. HCHRA’s Vice President for Head Start oversees the Council, ensuring all responsibilities are effectively and expeditiously carried out.

Policy Council Officers

Charles Mayfield


Towanda Martin


Crystal Brown


Whitney Townsend

Assistant Secretary

Melia Jones


Policy Council Representatives

Hannah Burns

Gertrude Ellis Head Start Center

Bonnie Florence

Eulander Kendrick Head Start Center

Shormaine Green

Edwards Head Start Center

Mary Hamilton

Richard Brandon Head Start Center

JacQuela Hulitt

Oak Forest Head Start Center

Melia Jones

Martin Head Start Center

Tajada Lewis

Mary C. Jones Head Start Center

Kimberly Maxie

Midtown Head Start Center

Rachel Pelt

St. Thomas Head Start Center

Shanita Ransom

Della J. Caugills Early Head Start Center

Alecia Rucker

Westside Head Start Center

Rachael Thompson

Holy Ghost Early Head Start Center

Whitney Townsend

South Jackson Head Start Center

LaKenya Turner

Edwards Early Head Start Center

Policy Council Community Representatives

Crystal Brown

Community Representative

Willard L. Spires

HCHRA Board Liaison

Derrick Cashier

Community Representative

Towanda Martin

Community Representative

Brenda Sutton

Community Representative