HCHRA Held Community Action Partnership Banquet in Honor of National Community Action Month

Nearly 300 area residents, community and business leaders gathered at the Hilton Jackson Hotel on May 19, 2017, for the Community Action Partnership (CAP) Banquet hosted by Hinds County Human Resource Agency (HCHRA) in honor of their 40th year of service to the community. The event celebrated individuals who embody the mission of HCHRA, and featured a banquet dinner, entertainment, an awards ceremony, and an inspirational keynote address.

In addition to being a part of HCHRA’s 40th year anniversary celebration, the CAP Banquet was held in recognition of National Community Action Month, which is observed by Community Action Agencies all across America for the entire month of May. HCHRA is a part of a state and a national coalition of Community Action Agencies whose goal is to help low-income families move out of poverty and achieve economic security.

HCHRA honored six individuals who, with the individualized assistance of HCHRA, overcame tremendous odds and significantly challenging life situations.  The Bootstrap Award winners this year were Jennifer Cole, Alicia Darden, Sharleo Griffith, Brittney Knox, Stephanie & Malcolm Thompson, and Shasondria Wise.

Rev. C. Edward Rhodes, II, pastor of Mt. Helm Baptist Church in Jackson, delivered an inspirational message about perseverance and achievement, even when the odds are stacked against you. Ms. Erin Pickens, morning anchor for 16 WAPT News in Jackson, was the Mistress of Ceremonies for the evening, and entertainment was provided by world-renowned saxophonist, Dr. Jessie Primer III.  HCHRA was also honored to have members of the Jim Hill High School JROTC serve as hosts for the event.  Hand-made table centerpieces were provided by HCHRA Head Start students and staff.

Board of Directors Vice Chairman Trent Walker Presents Bootstrap Award to Jennifer Cole

Bootstrap Award Presented to Sharleo Griffith (center) by Director of Children’s Services Dr. LaTessa Long (left) and Vice Chairman Walker

Bootstrap Award Presented to Malcom and Stephanie Thompson

Bootstrap Award Winner Shasondria Wise (center) with Vice Chairman Walker and Asst. Vice President for the Department of Community Programs Cornelius Beasley (right)

Bootstrap Award Presented to Alicia Darden (center)

Chairman of the Board Ann Burton with Keynote Speaker

EVP/COO David Knight Recognizes Guests